Aegean Regatta

Aegean Regatta

The Aegean Regatta is an international sailing organization which started in 2001.The organization started having two main goals.On the one hand, it wanted to give the opportunity either to the yachtsmen/women of the capital city of Greece or to the ones of the islands to get to know the islands and destinations which they would not decide to visit.On the other hand, it wanted to strengthen the local communities financially and give them a chance to attract visitors. This venture began from the Open Sea Community, the Hellenic Sailing Union and the Ministry of Aegean.This attempt found supporters and the yachting clubs of the border islands, such as the A.S.I.A.Th. Rhodos, the L.O.I.A.Th. Lesvos, the N.O.Karlovasi, the N.O. Samos and the N.O.Hios.All these groups organized the first Aegean Regatta and achieved to create an institution.

From 2001 until 2013 the Aegean Regatta sailed along the islands of Lesvos, Hios, Oinousses, Samos, Leros, Ikaria, Kos, Simi, Rhodos, Limnos, Samothraki, Andros, Lipsous, Patmos, Astipalea, Tilos, Skopelos, Amorgos, Kalimnos, Nisiros, Thasos, Syros, Skyros and continues to visit new destinations.Every year the participation of the yachting boats was getting more and more and the entries were about 70-90, or some years even 100. A direct outcome of this great participation was the fact that every year more than 1200 yachtsmen/women were transparted from one island to another and mainly from islands which were totally forgotten.

For the last 12 years, the Aegean Regatta has achieved not only to strengthen the border islands, to bring the yachtsmen/women throughout Greece into contact, but also to give the opportunity to many foreign crews to get to know the island culture. Throughout this period of time a new generation of yachtmen/women grew up and they all learnt to sail the Aegean Sea easily and to have quality and safe races. Furthermore, they achieved to promote sailing not only as a means of entertainment but as a means of contribution and way of life, as well.

Στην Aegean Regatta 2016 έχουν δηλώσει συμμετοχή 74 σκάφη από εννέα χώρες, αποδεικνύοντας για μία ακόμα χρονιά την αγάπη και την εμπιστοσύνη των ιστιοπλόων στον αγώνα.

Aegean Regatta 2016 Programme

Date Day Description
20-08-2016 Saturday Skippers Meeting – Opening Ceremony
21-08-2016 Sunday 1st Race – Porto Karras – Myrina
22-08-2016 Monday Day Off
23-08-2016 Tuesday 2nd Race – Myrina – Ag. Efstratios
24-08-2016 Wednesday 3rd Race – Ag. Efstratios – Mythimna
25-08-2016 Thursday Day Off
26-08-2016 Friday 4th Race – Mythimna – Mytilene
27-08-2016 Saturday Inshore Races –  Closing Ceremony

Click HERE for more information and for results.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *